nschulm888

A woman who refused to be a mother-in-law

Rate this Entry
Thank you everyone for reading my story. I just turned 34 and have Asperger Syndrome (not diagnosed until I was 25). That did not stop me from wanting to be in an intimate relationship, I just did not know what I was doing. When I first met my now ex-boyfriend at a mutual friend's birthday party in May 2008, I was in my late twenties pursuing my master's degree. We would hang out with our mutual friend (who have known each other since they were 12) and some friends (with the same diagnosis as me) of mine. During that time, I learned that he *still* lives with his parents but works full-time in his field, engineering and had nearly no dating history other than taking a girl to the prom in high school. I graduated in December 2009. Several weeks later the sparks started flying when my ex called to wish me a Happy Valentine's Day. From that point on when we would see our friends, I always sat next to him and we spoke at least once a week. That May, we agreed to begin dating. We got thru the transition from friends to dating relatively smoothly. I met his parents and younger sister (who moved out of the family home into her own apartment many years before) in the late summer while I was still living with my mother. At the end of September, I finally got approved for a special grant that allows disabled persons to pay for rent and moved to my apartment in October in the same county as my mom and boyfriend live (with my many relatives nearby). We began to have daily phone conversations after getting home from work and I was fine with seeing him only on weekends. The fact that he and his family wanted their alone time without me did not bother me for quite some time; same with calling them to check in when we would be going somewhere to visit family or friends (when we would arrive and leave). In fact, I made a point to say hello to them myself and not just have my ex speak to them. However, I understan